“I’ll do it later,” but later never comes.
Puts down the pen, into laziness succumbs.

“I’ll do it later,” but the time is never right.
Maybe just one more movie, or a funny site.

“I’ll do it later,” he recites again,
like a broken record, stuck on the refrain.

“I’ll do it now!” He at last begins to stir.
Maybe he won’t falter, else laziness recur.


This poem was written as part of NaPoWriMo. If you would like to participate or learn more visit http://www.napowrimo.net/. You can also follow The Daily Post for prompt ideas.

(Photo above by elizastan.)

One bad habit I’ve had with my blog is not to follow through with my writing. I was going to use the excuse that the end of April was busy, but truly it was just that I sort of just stopped writing.

When I don’t follow through it feels like I’m a broken record, but I have to dust myself off and move forward. There’s only two days left in NaPoWriMo (counting today) and I plan to at least finish off strong.