One of my favorite parts of going to see a movie is arriving early to watch the trailers. Though only short glimpses of a film, a trailer can make or break the momentum a movie receives prior to its premiere.

This past weekend we finally made it out to see Bourne Legacy. Unfortunately, we were running a little late and I don’t remember the first trailer since we were putting in our food order during it (we went to Studio Movie Grill). Though I can’t remember the first trailer, I do remember shrugging it off though, so that may be part of the reason I can’t remember the name of the movie. The other two trailers definitely left an impression on me.

Premium Rush

Every once in a while we get a movie that you can’t question. As absurd as it may seem it captures your attention and you sort of accept it knowing that it is purely for entertainment. Premium Rush is just that. It’s an action movie starring a bike messenger (Joseph Gordon-Levitt).

During the whole trailer I couldn’t help but chuckle to myself and think, “well now I’ve seen everything.” And the rest of the audience seemed to agree as I heard confused laughter at the end of the trailer.

As ridiculous as the story concept is, they were smart bringing in JGL who has been on a hot streak, especially after the success of The Dark Knight Rises. It’ll be interesting to see if this will slow him down a bit or if he will ride right on through!

Les Miserables

The band nerd in me wanted to jump out of my seat when I heard Anne Hathaway singing “I Dreamed a Dream.” I knew that they were working on a film adaptation of Les Miserables, but until this weekend I hadn’t seen any video, much less a trailer. The minute and a half trailer didn’t give much away story-wise, but the camera work and quality of picture gives me hope that it will be a promising rendition. For fans of the musical, this looks like it will be a must see.

Along with Hathaway, Les Mis stars Hugh Jackman, Russell Crowe, and Amanda Seyfried just to name a few, and is being directed by Tom Hooper, known for his work on The King’s Speech.

That’s it for this round of Trailer Reviews, a full review of Bourne Legacy will be coming soon.

